My First Mammogram!

Well, it’s Breast Cancer Awareness month so it’s no surprise that I decided to have my first mammogram today.  I’d been putting it off for over a year because of all the horror stories.  I’d heard of women coming out with breasts so painful they had to sit down.  Others described the pain as unbearable.  I really didn’t know what to expect so I was in no hurry to make the call.   Were it not for the fact that my grandmother had breast cancer, I probably would’ve put it off yet another year or two.  Fortunately, she survived, but cancer is rampant in my family.  I lost my mom and 2 aunts within a three year timeframe.  That’s not to mention my cousin who died of cancer before he graduated high school!  No, not having a mammogram wasn’t an option. I made the call last week and today was d-day.

Guess what?  It wasn’t painful at all.   Uncomfortable, yes.  Painful, absolutely not.  I was pleased as punch when the technician told me it was all over.  I was in and out in less than 30 minutes.

This weekend, encourage your mother, sister, cousin, aunt or friend to go ahead and get her mammogram.  Breast cancer is very treatable if detected early.  My grandmother is over 90 years old and still kickin’

Talk to you on Monday.

Leave a Reply

